Recognition of National Systems

The overall objective of this programme is to ensure that the coach education being performed in our member nations is at least meeting minimum standards.

ITF recognition is based on criteria and minimum standards for coach education that were agreed by the ITF Task Force on Coach Education and subsequently endorsed by the ITF Coaches’ Commission and the ITF Board of Directors.

The Task Force, which was made up of the Directors of Coach Education from some of the world’s most developed tennis nations, including the four Grand Slam countries, met on a number of occasions between 2006 and 2009 and, together with ITF staff, developed and agreed criteria for the recognition process.

During 2009 and 2010, pilot projects took place in Australia and Spain which resulted in the ITF approving the Coach Education systems of these two nations.  This ITF recognition now allows Tennis Australia and the Real Federación Española de Tenis to use the ITF logo as a sign of quality control for their coach education programme, indicating that they have achieved the minimum standards for coach education set by the ITF.

Nations have to provide to the ITF certain information in advance and then an ITF assessor pays a 2-day visit to the nation concerned where their Director of Coach Education has the opportunity to explain the system that they have in place and can show the assessor all of the resources and learning tools used in their programme.

Miguel Crespo in India for the Recognition of Coach Education systems evaluation

At the end of the 2 days, in most cases, the assessor should be able to sign off the nation’s system as recognised or give them some minor changes to make before the recognition is formally given.

By the end of 2016, the following tennis nations were recognised by the ITF at:

Gold Level:

1. Australia
2. Austria
3. Belgium (Pending renewal)
4. Brazil 
5. Canada
6. Colombia (Pending renewal)
7. Cuba
8. Finland (Pending renewal)
9. France
10. Ireland (Pending renewal)
11. Germany
12. Great Britain
13. Italy
14. Netherlands
15. Norway
16. Portugal
17. Spain (Pending renewal)
18. Switzerland

Silver Level:

1. India
2. South Africa

Bronze Level:

1. Belarus 
2. Bulgaria 
3. Cyprus 
4. Sri Lanka 
5. Hong Kong 
6. Croatia

For further information on this process, please email


Recognition Levels
The ITF recognise the Coach Education systems of National Associations at three levels: Gold, Silver and Bronze.